A Complete List and History

The Italian Serie A is one of Europe’s elite leagues and has a rich history, with many of the most decorated teams in the world, such as Juventus, AC Milan, Inter Milan and Roma.

In this guide we will take you through the previous winners of Italy’s top tier.

Get more information about Italian Serie A at William Hill

Introduction to Italian Serie A

What is Italian Serie A?

The Italian Serie A is the top tier of Italian football, with 20 of Italy’s best teams competing in a league format across 38 home-and-away fixtures for the chance to be crowned champion.

Importance of Italian Serie A Winners

To win Italian Serie A takes great consistency over the course of the season and as such any Serie A winners are considered the best team in Italy. Winning the Serie A title is a statement to their rivals, other clubs and fans in Italy as well as in Europe as a whole, so victory carries huge importance.

Historical Overview of Italian Serie A Winners

Early Years of Italian Serie A

Inception of Italian Serie A

Serie A was established in 1898, when the competition was organised into regional groups. This format continued until 1929 and since then the league has been arranged in its current single-group format. Previously there were between 16 to 18 teams competing, but since 2004 the league has comprised 20 teams.

First Italian Serie A Winners

The first team to win the inaugural Serie A was Genoa, who won the league three times in a row between 1898 and 1900. Since then they have secured Serie A honours four times, but they haven’t tasted success for a long time, with their last win coming nearly 100 years ago.

Italian Serie A Winners in the Modern Era

Dominant Teams in Italian Serie A

There have been periods of dominance from many teams in Serie A. As mentioned, Genoa began with a hattrick of wins in the first three years of the competition.

Juventus have had many periods of dominance, winning five titles in the 1930s and another five in the 1970s, while most recently the Turin side won an unprecedented nine titles in a row between 2011 and 2020.

Their great rivals Torino were the dominant Serie A side in the 1940s, winning five of their seven titles in that period.

Both Milan sides have also had periods of great strength, with AC Milan winning five titles in the 1990s and their rivals Inter also successful five times the proceeding decade.

Evolution of Italian Serie A Winners

The strength of certain teams has increased and waned in the course of Serie A’s 125-year history. Genoa, Torino, AC Milan, Inter Milan have all had their moments, but the powerhouse of recent years remains Juventus.

Notable Records and Achievements

Juventus are the team that have won the most Serie A titles, with 36, ahead of Inter and AC Milan with 19 each. ‘The Old Lady’ also hold the record for most consecutive titles, winning nine times between 2011 and 2020.

Inter Milan have spent the longest time in Serie A, competing in 91 consecutive seasons in the Italian top flight. Inter also hold the record for most consecutive wins in a Serie A season with 17.

Notable Italian Serie A Winners

Memorable Seasons and Moments

1948-49 – The 1940s in Serie A were dominated by one team, Torino. The Turin side have always held a reputation as a historically successful club, but have been overshadowed by their city rivals Juventus since the 1950s. However, this was a period that saw their team develop such a formidable reputation that they became known as ‘Grande Torino’, a team that was so strong it won five Serie A titles in a row and at one point fielded 10 players of the 11 starters in the Italian national team. The 1948-49 season was their fifth and final success as they defeated Inter Milan by five points.

1984-85 – A miracle season saw Hellas Verona come from nowhere to claim Serie A spoils for the first and only time. Manager Osvaldo Bagnoli masterminded Verona’s passage through the season. For a small provincial team, it was a scarcely believable campaign, akin to Leicester City’s Premier League victory in 2016.

2020-21 – Juventus had won nine straight Serie A titles and for the other sides in the division dislodging the Turin side must have seemed an increasingly distant hope. However, it was Inter Milan, managed by Antonio Conte, who proved up to breaking Juve’s dominance, taking the title by a commanding margin of 12 points from city rivals AC. It was a moment that proved a watershed moment and made Serie A competitive once again.

2022-23 – Last season was a notable one as it marked Napoli’s first Serie A win in 33 years, as they beat Lazio to the title by 14 points. Frontman Victor Osimhen scored 26 goals to help his side to the title, while the last time Napoli triumphed they were spurred on to victory by the great Deigo Maradona.

Legendary Italian Clubs and Their Success

Many of the legendary Italian clubs in Serie A are known for their domestic dominance but also their success in Europe’s premier club competition, the Champions League.

AC Milan have won 19 Serie A titles, but the Rossoneri have also won the second most European Cups in history with seven.

Inter Milan also have 19 Serie A titles to their name and have won the Champions League three times, while record-holding 36-time Serie A champions, Juventus have won two Champions League titles.

Other Italian clubs that have never won the Champions League, but are renowned as powerhouses in Europe are Roma (three-time Serie A winners), Napoli (three-time Serie A winners) and Lazio (two-time Serie A winners).

Bet on Italian Serie A 2023/2024 at William Hill

Latest Italian Serie A Winners

Bet on Italian Serie A 2023/2024 at William Hill

How are Italian Serie A Winners Determined?

Points System and Scoring Criteria

As with all major football leagues, teams are awarded three points for a win, one point for a draw and zero points for a loss. Over the 38 games of a season, teams accumulate points dependent on their results, with the side that accumulates most points crowned Serie A champions.

Tiebreakers and Head-to-Head Results

If after all 38 games have been played, two teams are tied on the same number of points, then goal difference is used to separate them. Should they still be inseparable, then the head-to-head results from the two sides’ two fixtures during the season is taken into account.

Check out all the latest betting offers at William Hill